History
Built in 1920, this building was originally home to Smith Garage, owned by Russell Smith. Russell originally worked as a mechanic at the Bonnewitz Brothers Garage on corner of E. Main and Market Streets (location of Mengerink’s Sporting Goods) and later operated an Auburn dealership in Gunsett’s Mule Barn on S. Market Street. He then went on to build his own dealership selling Auburn, Nash , and Buick automobiles over the years. One of the most unique features of the building is a ramp going from the street to the basement level where cars would drive for maintenance - a feature that has been maintained during renovation. The basement served as overnight storage for cars, including indoor parking for guests of the Marsh Hotel. Later a boxing ring was constructed in the basement, allowing a place for Russell’s son Lloyd “Porky” Smith, a boxer on the Golden Glove circuit, to train. Russell was also an avid gardener and included his love for gardening in the landscaping of the dealership. He was even known to cross breed roses and create new varieties.
Historic info courtesy of: Steve & Shirley Smith (grandson) and Dave Kirchenbauer